NAHRO's Highest Honor Awarded to Apolonio Flores


SAN ANTONIO, October 26--

The National Association of Housing and Redevelopment Officials (NAHRO) has selected Apolonio "Nono" Flores as the recipient of its 2008 M. Justin Herman Memorial Award in recognition of his outstanding achievements and innovation in the housing and community development field. The award will be presented Oct. 26 at NAHRO's National Conference and Exhibition in San Antonio, Texas.

Mr. Flores is Principal of Flores Residential, L.C., which provides real estate development, financial consulting services, and management, program and technical advisory and consulting services to housing authorities, non-profit organizations, developers and others. Prior to founding Flores Residential, Mr. Flores served as President and Chief Executive Officer for the San Antonio Housing Authority, where he expanded the authority's inventory of affordable housing by more than 3,500 units through pioneering use of non-profit corporations and innovative financing, transforming the authority into a model for housing authorities nationwide.

His professional affiliations include NAHRO, of which he served as President; the Housing and Development Law Institute; the Housing Research Foundation; the Texas Housing Finance Corporation; and the Housing Authority Television Network. Mr. Flores has received the highest award from both the Southwest Regional Council of NAHRO and Texas NAHRO, and was the first member inducted into the Texas NAHRO Hall of Fame. In 1988, President Ronald Reagan appointed Mr. Flores to serve as a Member of the White House Conference for a Drug-Free America.

"Nono is a champion for responsible housing policy and never gives up," said NAHRO President Renée Rooker. "He is a true 'can do' person and it is an honor to present NAHRO's highest award to him."

The M. Justin Herman Memorial Award is NAHRO's highest honor and most prestigious award, and was established to provide a living acknowledgement for the standard of excellence M. Justin Herman established in the field of housing and community development. It recognizes an exceptionally qualified person who has made outstanding contributions to the quality of life through service in the field of housing or community development.