M. Justin Herman Memorial Award

Purpose:  NAHRO's highest and most prestigious award given to honor an exceptionally qualified person who has made outstanding contributions to the quality of life through service in the field of housing or community development. The award is made on the basis of extraordinary accomplishments and contributions. 

History: The award was established in 1975 in the name of M. Justin Herman to provide a living acknowledgement for the standard of excellence he established in the field of housing and community development and the contributions he made to the beauty and vigor of San Francisco.

Qualifications:   Each nominee must have demonstrated an outstanding contribution to the nation's effort to provide "a decent home and a suitable living environment for every American family."

Deadline: August 15, 2019

The winner will be honored at NAHRO's National Conference in San Antonio, TX:  October 10-12, 2019.

Apply Online

Application Format

Judging Guidelines

Judging Guidelines Definitions 


The recipient will be selected on the basis of achievement in one or more of the following areas:

Maximum Number of Points:   100
Nominees must receive an average score from the jury of at least 70 points to be considered for receipt of the award.

2018 Recipient

Michael Gerber
President and CEO
Housing Authority of the City of Austin
Austin, TX

Previous Recipients

Richard C. Gentry, President/CEO, San Diego Housing Commission, San Diego,CA

Adrianne Todman, Executive Director-District of Columbia Housing Authority, Washington, DC

Robert Pearson, Executive Director/CEO, Santa Barbara Housing Authority, Santa Barbara, CA

Curtis O. Law, Executive Director, Housing Authority of the City of Norwalk, Norwalk, CT

Jane C.W. Vincent, Regional Administrator - Mid-Atlantic Region, HUD, Philadelphia, PA

Carol Gore, President and CEO, Cook Inlet Housing Authority, Anchorage, AK

Michael P. Kelly, General Manager, New York City Housing Authority

Steve Falek, Associate Director, Housing Authority of the City of Milwaukee, WI

Apolonio "NoNo" Flores, Principal, Flores Residential LLC, San Antonio, Texas

Elizabeth Morris, former President/CEO, San Diego Housing Commission, San Diego, CA

Jack Quinn, PHM, Former Executive Director, City of Pueblo Housing Authority, Pueblo, CO

Maria Lourdes Seman Ada, Executive Director, Northern Marianas Housing Corporation, Saipan, MP

Kurt Creager, Former Chief Executive Officer, Vancouver Housing Authority, Former NAHRO President, Vancouver, WA

Helen L. Sause, Former Deputy Director, San Francisco Redevelopment Agency and Former NAHRO President, San Francisco, CA

Richard Y. Nelson, Director, Montgomery County Department of Community Development, formerly Executive Director of NAHRO, and Chair, Housing Opportunities Commission, Montgomery County (MD)

John T. McEvoy, Former Executive Director, National Council of State Housing Agencies, Washington, DC

William S. Clements, PHM, Retired Executive Director, North Little Rock (AR) Housing Authority

Robert L. Armstrong, President, AVI Consulting, Omaha, NE and Past President NAHRO

I. Donald Terner, Former President and CEO, Bridge Housing Corporation, San Francisco, CA


For a list of additional recipients, click here.

For additional information, contact:

Sylvia Moore Bowen
877-866-2476, ext. 7201